About Big Cats

Big cats, also known as the felids, are a group of powerful and awe-inspiring predators that captivate our imagination. These magnificent creatures belong to the kingdom Animalia, the class Mammalia, and the order Carnivora.  With their muscular bodies, keen senses, and remarkable hunting abilities, big cats have earned their place as some of the most iconic and revered animals on Earth. 

Big cats are large, carnivorous mammals that belong to the family Felidae. They are characterized by their muscular bodies, sharp retractable claws, and powerful jaws. Here are some unique characteristics that set big cats apart:

  • Adaptations for Hunting: Big cats possess keen senses of sight, hearing, and smell, which enable them to locate and stalk their prey with precision. Their muscular bodies and sharp claws make them formidable hunters in their respective habitats.
  • Roaring Abilities: Big cats are known for their distinctive vocalizations, including roaring. This roaring ability is unique to big cats and plays a crucial role in communication and territorial display.

The big cats include the tiger, lion, leopard, jaguar, and snow leopard.  However, many professionals add the cheetah and the cougar (puma) to bring the total number of big cats to seven.  There are many other types of wild cats that intrigue animal lovers.

What are other types of wild cats?

Many people who are exploring the Big Cats are often thinking about additional wild cats.  Here is a quick look at some of the more popular wild cats:

Bobcat: The bobcat is a medium-sized North American cat known for its short tail, tufted ears, and distinctive spotted or striped coat.

Caracal: The caracal is a medium-sized cat found in Africa, the Middle East, and parts of Asia. It is known for its distinctive tufted ears and agile hunting skills.

Jaguarundi: The jaguarundi is a small wild cat native to Central and South America. It has a long body, short legs, and a plain coat without distinct markings.

Lynx: The lynx species are medium-sized wildcats found in various regions, including North America, Europe, and Asia. They are known for their tufted ears and dense fur.

Margay: The margay is a small wild cat native to Central and South America. It is skilled at climbing trees and has long hind legs for leaping.

Ocelot: The ocelot is a medium-sized wildcat found in South America, Central America, and parts of North America. It has a distinctive coat pattern with spots and stripes.

Serval: The serval is a medium-sized African wild cat known for its long legs and spotted coat. It is an adept hunter, often found near water sources.


Big cats represent the epitome of power, beauty, and adaptability in the animal kingdom. From the mighty lion to the elusive snow leopard, each species possesses its own unique traits and characteristics. 

They play crucial roles in their ecosystems and inspire awe and admiration in humans. Understanding and appreciating these magnificent creatures can help us recognize the importance of their conservation and ensure their survival for future generations.

detail-img detail-img

Types of Big Cats


The cheetah (Acinonyx jubatus) is a swift and agile big cat known for its incredible speed, distinctive black spots, and unique hunting prowess.

Read More

Clouded Leopard

The clouded leopard (Neofelis nebulosa) is a mysterious and arboreal big cat, distinguished by its cloud-like spots and found in the forests of Southeast Asia.

Read More


The jaguar (Panthera onca) is a big native to the Americas, renowned for its striking rosette-patterned coat, powerful build, & presence in rainforests.

Read More


The leopard (Panthera pardus) is a solitary and adaptable big cat, renowned for its striking rosette-patterned coat and elusive nature across a wide geographic range.

Read More


The lion (Panthera leo) is a majestic big cat, known for its regal appearance, social behavior, and role as the "king of the jungle" in Africa.

Read More

Mountain Lion

The mountain lion (Puma concolor), also known as cougar or puma, is a solitary and elusive big cat found in the Americas, known for its adaptability and stealth.

Read More

Snow Leopard

The snow leopard (Panthera uncia) is a high-altitude big cat, celebrated for its pale gray coat and adaptability to mountainous regions in Central and South Asia.

Read More


he tiger (Panthera tigris) is a powerful and endangered big cat, famous for its orange coat with black stripes, and it roams diverse habitats in Asia.

Read More


1. What are the largest and smallest of the wild cats?

The largest big cat species is the tiger, with males weighing up to 600 pounds (272 kilograms) and reaching lengths of over 10 feet (3 meters) from nose to tail. 

In contrast, the smallest big cat is the leopard, weighing around 80-200 pounds (36-90 kilograms) and measuring approximately 3-6 feet (1-2 meters) in length.

2. What is the fastest cat?

The cheetah holds the title for the fastest big cat, capable of reaching speeds up to 70 miles per hour (112 kilometers per hour) in short bursts. As for strength, the tiger is considered the strongest among the big cats, with its muscular build and powerful jaws.

3. How many species of big cats are there?

There are five recognized species of big cats: lion, tiger, jaguar, leopard, and snow leopard. However, some classifications also include the cheetah and the cougar as members of the big cat family, bringing the total to seven.

4. How long do big cats live?

The lifespan of big cats varies among species. On average, big cats live between 10 to 15 years in the wild, but they can live longer in captivity. Among the species, lions have the longest lifespan, with some individuals reaching up to 20 years or more.

  • Burnie, David & Wilson, Don, Animal, Smithsonian Institute, Washington DC.
  • Hickman et al, Integrated Principle of Zoology, McGraw Hill, Boston.